Ancestral Recall - Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah

Ancestral Recall - Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah


Stretching back to the ancestors to move forward.


Heavily inspired in part by his cultural heritage and, also, in part by his partner, Ancestral Recall picks up where Christian’s latest efforts have left off. The “stretch music” rooted trilogy of albums that precede this release found Scott tapping more intentionally into his Native and African lineage through his music, finding new fusions of hip-hop percussive sounds within jazz music. Ancestral recall adapts that fusion practice even further, yet now it’s more about the fusion of the sound with each of his muses and less about what genres the sound derives. The wisely-placed 808s are there. The sound of trumpet blaring from a Harlem balcony in the summer is there. And even Saul William’s words/voice as an instrument is there. What’s unique this time is that they all work so seamlessly that it’s almost as if they’re each combining as one instrument. There is a unity in this iteration of stretch music that shows Christian is tapped into an ancestor somewhere and willing to take us on the journey with him.


LP 1

Side A

  1. Her Arrival

  2. I Own The Night (feat. Saul Williams)

  3. The Shared Stories of Rivals (Keita) (feat. Saul Williams)

Side B

  1. Forevergirl (feat. Chris Turner & Mike Larry Draw)

  2. Diviner (Devan)

  3. Overcomer

  4. Songs She Never Heard (feat. Logan Richardson)

LP 2

Side C

  1. Ritual (Rise of Chief Adjuah)

  2. Prophesy

  3. Before (feat. Elena Pinderhughes)

Side D

  1. Double Consciousness

  2. Ancestral Recall (feat. Saul Williams)