In a New Mood - Oscar Brown, Jr.

In a New Mood - Oscar Brown, Jr.


Singer turned songwriter turned voice for the common person.

Add to Cart

For his third album, In a New Mood, Oscar Brown Jr. continued the trajectory of his first two LPs-songs capturing depth of emotion most only dared touch the surface for fear of commercial failure. Due to some label issue with Columbia at the time, he ended up using work written and composed by others instead of his own signature songwriting. Oscar’s take on “Work Song” and “Straighten Up and Fly Right” proved that not only was In a New Mood still solid, it also showed that there was still a space for jazz vocalists at a time when jazz began to see some shifts.

This LP is a part of The Phyllis Collection and in very good (VG) condition.


Side A

  1. When or Where

  2. Nobody Knows When You’re Down and Out

  3. Mood Indigo

  4. Please Send Me Someone to Love

  5. Hey There

  6. One for My Baby and One More for the Road

Side B

  1. Sixteen Tons

  2. God Bless’ the Child

  3. Work Song

  4. Go Down Moses

  5. It Ain’t Necessarily So

  6. Straighten Up and Fly Right