juslisen - Musiq Soulchild

juslisen - Musiq Soulchild


Half crazy about this whole album.

sold out
Add to Cart

As a record label, what do you do with an artist that can bounce around octaves like it’s hopscotch but doesn’t fit the typical image of an R&B sex symbol? If you’re Def Jam, nothing but get out of the way. And that would be the correct answer for any label. Musiq Soulchild represented the long legacy of Philly musicians in the best ways possible in 2000 with his breakout debut album, Aijuswanaseing Def Jam’s Def Soul imprint. In 2002, he came right back with his sophomore effort, juslisen, and showed no signs of slowing down. It debuted at number one on three different Billboard charts went on to be RIAA-certified platinum. The singles “halfcrazy” and “dontchange” proved he could continue to garner the attention of the music industry while album cuts like “newness” and “reallove” served as testaments of his own fingerprint on the neo-soul movement of that early 2000s era. This 2xLP reissue serves as a solid reminder of what modern R&B can be when done well at its highest levels.


LP 1

Side A

  1. Scratch Interlude

  2. Newness

  3. Caughtup (feat. AAries)

  4. Stoplayin

  5. Religious

Side B

  1. Halfcrazy

  2. Time

  3. Future

  4. Intermission: Juslisen

  5. Realove4:22

LP 2

Side C

  1. Onenight

  2. Previouscats

  3. Solong

  4. Bestfriend (feat. Carl Riddick)

Side D

  1. Dontchange

  2. Motherfather

  3. Something

  4. Ifiwouldaknew (Girlnextdoor Remix)