Mama's Gun - Erykah Badu

Mama's Gun - Erykah Badu


What’s yo izm?!

Add to Cart

Simply put, Mama’s Gun had (and still has) it all. Erykah Badu’s 2000 second album cleanly avoided the sophomore slump, leapfrogging the also incredible debut, Baduizm (1997). She saw a lot of success early on for not only her singing ability but, also, for her wit and knack for relating to her listeners at a ground level. Mama’s Gun incorporated all of that and more as arrangements grew even more soulful (s/o to Dilla, James Poyser, and so many more!). In terms of content, Erykah still sang about the usual love interest issues as before but, she also expanded into tackling societal issues (“Time’s A Wastin’” and “Penitentiary Philosophy”) and deeper introspection (“My Life,” “Green Eyes,” and “Orange Moon”). By far, though, the stand out single “Bag Lady” let her audience know that she hadn’t left them in the dust-that this was only the beginning of a long, weird, and wonderful ride together.


LP 1

Side A

  1. Penitentiary Philosophy

  2. Didn't Cha Know

  3. My Life

  4. ... & On

Side B

  1. Cleva

  2. Hey Sugah

  3. Booty

  4. Kiss Me On My Neck (Hesi)

  5. A.D. 2000

LP 2

Side C

  1. Orange Moon

  2. In Love With You (feat. Stephen Marley)

  3. Bag Lady

Side D

  1. Time's A Wastin'

  2. Green Eyes