MTV Unplugged - Lauryn Hill

MTV Unplugged - Lauryn Hill


Just a mic, a guitar, and her soul.

Add to Cart

Lauryn Hill is an easy music industry punching bag. And that has to stop. To be fair, she hasn’t made it better for herself by showing up super late (if at all sometimes) to shows. The fans are the ones that enable musicians at this level to pay the bills. However, fans can also become an artist's worst enemy with regard to pressure to produce what they want, when they want it, etc. Cue up Lauryn Hill’s MTV Unplugged No. 2.0 album. MTV ran this Unplugged series for quite a while but few have stayed in the minds of music fans as long as Lauryn’s has. A ton of pressure was placed on her after the huge successes of The Score and The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill. That pressure proved to be too much and it caused within Lauryn the need to retreat, to find and figure herself out, and to seriously consider the scariest question an artist can face…”What if I can’t top what I’ve already done and this is it for me?” All of that searching, pain, and rediscovery bled out across this Unplugged performance, harnessed by just her guitar and scratchy voice. It brought fans in for a closer look at not only Lauryn, but also at themselves. It’s honest, soul-touching music that, while not technically perfect, stays with you once you’ve encountered it. So, to really sit with it, add this 180g reissue to your collection today.


LP 1

Side A

  1. Intro

  2. Mr Intentional

  3. Adam Lives In Theory

  4. Interlude 1

  5. Oh Jerusalem

Side B

  1. Interlude 2

  2. Freedom Time

  3. Interlude 3

  4. I Find It Hard To Say (Rebel)

  5. Just Like Water

  6. Interlude 4

  7. Just Want You Around

LP 2

Side C

  1. I Gotta Find Peace Of Mind

  2. Interlude 5

  3. Mystery Of Inquity

Side D

  1. Interlude 6

  2. I Get Out

  3. Interlude 7

  4. I Remember

  5. So Much Things To Say

  6. The Conquering Lion

  7. Outro