The Essential Billie Holiday // Carnegie Hall Concert - Billie Holiday

The Essential Billie Holiday // Carnegie Hall Concert - Billie Holiday


A live concert full of conviction.

Add to Cart

Billie Holiday’s 1956 concert at Carnegie Hall added another point up on the scoreboard for the then seemingly untouchable Jazz/Blues vocalist. Two packed out shows. At Carnegie Hall. In 1959. Few Black artists were able to command the presence and dollars of Whites the way Billie Holiday could during that era of abject segregation and racism (yes, even in the “north”). Interspersed between songs was New York Times writer Gilbert Millstein reading excerpts from Holiday’s autobiography, Lady Sings the Blues. It adds a unique touch to the show that make sure the audience doesn’t get too settled in the comfort of hearing Billie’s amazing voice. It calls out directly the indignities she suffered, the same ones she sang about, calling the audience into her performance in an entirely different manner. It was genius, bold, and thankfully captured in this LP released by Verve in 1961.

This used is LP is from our Phyllis Collection and is in near-mint (NM) condition with the sleeve in very good plus (VG+) condition.


Side A

  1. Lady Sings The Blues

  2. It Ain't Nobody's Business

  3. Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone

  4. I'll Be Seeing You

  5. I Love My Man

  6. Body And Soul

Side B

  1. Don't Explain

  2. Yesterdays

  3. My Man

  4. I Cried For You

  5. Fine & Mellow

  6. I Cover The Waterfront

  7. What A Little Moonlight Can Do