The In Crowd - The Ramsey Lewis Trio

The In Crowd - The Ramsey Lewis Trio


From Cabrini Green to U Street, Ramsey made his own in-crowd through music.

Add to Cart

The Ramsey Lewis Trio took a few instruments inside of an intimate, historic music venue and came on out the other side with pure gold. Recorded over a few show dates in May of 1965 at the now closed Bohemian Caverns in Washington, D.C., Ramsey Lewis (piano), Red Holt (drums), and Eldee Young (bass and cello), made their instruments do all of the talking for them. Seriously, there are times on songs like "Since I Fell For You” and “Come Sunday” where Lewis’ piano work literally sounds as if it is singing to the audience! Ramsey’s playing is as smooth as it is powerful and, with the backing on Holt and Young, the sparse nature of their arrangement works in their favor. Their covers of some classics is effortless and filled whatever room there was with swinging, soulful spirit. For the keys lovers out there, this is definitely a live recording you need in your crates.

This used LP is in mint (M) condition with its sleeve in very good plus (VG+) condition.


Side A

  1. The “In” Crowd

  2. Since I Fell For You

  3. Tennessee Waltz

  4. You Been Talkin’ ‘Bout Me Baby

Side B

  1. Spartacus (Love Theme From)

  2. Felicidade (Happiness)

  3. Come Sunday